AONSA Prize 2023: Call for nominations (closed)

All member institutes and societies are encouraged to submit nominations for the 2023 AONSA Prize. The announcement and application criteria may be downloaded by clicking here. Please note that the deadline of nomination is extended to August 31st, 2022.

AONSA Prize 2021: Robert A. Robinson

“For his outstanding achievements in understanding magnetism of actinide and heavy-fermion materials using neutron scattering, seminal contributions in building the world-leading neutron facility in Australia, and continuous dedication for the promotion of neutron science in the Asia-Oceania region.”

  • The Executive Committee selected Professor Robert A. Robinson as a recipient of the 6th AONSA Prize. Professor Robinson was awarded at the Prize Ceremony held during the ICNS 2022, Buenos Aires, Argentina.
  • Read the announcement of the AONSA Prize 2021

AONSA Prize 2019: Mahn Won Kim

“For his seminal contributions in building Asia-Oceania Neutron Scattering Association and the establishing of the neutron scattering community and facility in Korea, for his successful application of second harmonic generation (SHG) to investigate the air/liquid interface, and for his devoted mentoring of young scientists in the community of neutron science.”

  • The 5th AONSA Prize was awarded to Professor Mahn Won Kim at the Prize Ceremony held during the AOCNS 2019, Kaohsiung, Taiwan.

AONSA Prize 2017: Nobuo Niimura

“For his continuous contributions to the instrumental development and practical use of neutrons from Tohoku Linac, KENS, JRR-2 and 3 to J-PARC, especially the invention of the neutron imaging plate which opened a new paradigm in neutron protein crystallography all over the world including Asia-Oceania region, and for his devoted mentoring of young scientists in the community of neutron science.”

  • The 4th AONSA  Prize (2017) awarded to Professor Nobuo Niimura at a Prize Ceremony held during the ICNS-2017,  Daejeon, Korea.

The AONSA Prize 2015: John William White

“For his seminal contributions to the use of neutrons in understanding molecules at interfaces, molecular crystals and self-assembly, for his visionary leadership in establishing the Asia-Oceania neutron scattering community and state-of-art neutron facilities including OPAL, and for his devoted mentoring of young scientists.”

  • The 3rd AONSA Prize was awarded to Professor John W. White at the Prize Ceremony held during the 2nd AOCNS (July 19-23, 2015) in Manly/Sydney, Australia.

The AONSA Prize 2013: Anantha Dasannacharya

“For his pioneering contributions to neutron scattering in the Asia-Oceania region, through his early development of neutron spectroscopy and its applications for the dynamics in low-temperature liquids and molecular solids, and his active promotion of regional and international science as well as the national user program in India.”

  • The 2nd AONSA Prize (2013) was awarded to Professor Anantha Dasannacharya at an Award Ceremony held in July 2013 during the ICNS meeting in Edinburgh.

The AONSA Prize 2011: Noboru Watanabe

“For his pioneering development of accelerator-based neutron sources and instrumentations, and his great contribution to the establishment of neutron science community and finally to the realization of one of the most powerful pulsed neutron scattering facility at J-PARC.”

  • The 1st AONSA Prize was awarded to Professor Noboru Watanabe at an Award Ceremony held on Nov. 23, 2011 during the 1st AOCNS in Japan.
Copyright AONSA 2022
Tech Nerd theme designed by Siteturner