

AONSA Prize Ceremony

A winner of the 1st AONSA Prize is Prof. Noboru Watanabe (Scientific Consultant of JAEA, Emeritus Professor of KEK, Japan) as previously announced for his pioneering development of accelerator-based neutron sources and instrumentations, and his great contribution to the establishment of neutron science community and finally to the realization of one of the most powerful pulsed neutron scattering facility at J-PARC.

The Ceremony was held in the special session on AONSA Prize 2011 on Nov. 23 during the Conference. The Vice President of AONSA, Prof. Y. Fujii, reported details of selection process as Chair of Selection Committee. As its highlight, the President, Prof. J. White, awarded Prof. Watanabe Certificate of Prize, Medal and Monetary Prize (US\$5,000) followed by the Prize Lecture specially chaired by Dr. G. Bauer (retired from PSI). Prof. Watanabe's one-hour lecture greatly impressed all of audiences with his devotion to R&D of pulse neutron sources and instrumentations starting from the TOHOKU Linac, KENS through J-PARC. His longtime worldwide friends such as Drs. G. Bauer, J. Carpenter (retired from ANL) and A. Taylor (ISIS) attended this ceremony to congratulate him.

The present AONSA Prize has been made possible by the following voluntary contributors:

Individuals: Prof. M. W. Kim (KAIST/Korea)

Prof. M. Shibayama (Tokyo Univ./

Japan)

Facilities: ANSTO/Australia

HANARO/Korea

NSRRC/Taiwan

Societies: JSNS

KNBUA

AONSA has greatly appreciated their generous contribution.



The AONSA President (J. White, left) congratulating Prof. Watanabe during the Ceremony



Prof. Watanabe giving his Prize Lecture

Yasuhiko Fujii Vice President of AONSA